herbsandyoga

Simple ways to lead a healthy and nutritious life!

Lentils, and Quinoa, and Beans OH MY!

Leave a comment

I have never been a big meat eater.  Something about ground beef always gave me the willies. It looked gross and smelled horrid.  As I grew older, I began to search for ways to get the protein our bodies need without the usual animal sources.  Whether you are vegetarian, vegan, or a meat eater tired of the same old dishes, you can be sure that you are getting a ton of nutrients with your meal with these meatless options!

Most Americans are becoming hip to the nasty secrets of the meat industry (and dairy, for that matter!).  Chickens with arsenic?  Pink Slime?  Not to mention their feed is entirely genetically modified.  No, thanks.   The big meatless winner here is quinoa.  Quinoa contains all essential amino acids, making it a complete protein and an excellent choice to add to your next dish.  One cup of cooked quinoa boasts 18 grams of protein!  This is my personal favorite recipe to use quinoa: 

http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/04/crunchy-cashew-thai-quinoa-salad-with-ginger-peanut-dressing/#comment-5123

   Beans provide iron, protein, fiber, iron, folate, potassium, and magnesium.  There are so many different beans to try in different preparations and I am confident that you will enjoy each and every one of them!  My 6 year old daughter’s favorite bean dish is a black bean taco.  Beans with red onion and cilantro? Count us in!

http://www.endlesssimmer.com/2012/04/04/cornerstone-cooking-crunchy-black-bean-tacos/#more-33746

Lentils are my latest craze.  I sprouted some and I was the only one in my family that liked the taste of the sprouted lentils.  Like quinoa, lentils pretty much absorb the flavor of whatever you are cooking it in.  It is very versatile.  Lentils have the same nutritional awesomeness as beans and are a great choice for burgers, tacos, and pretty much anything  else you wanted to turn it into!  I made the tacos the other day and they were DELISH! The other lentil recipe I am posting is in my “gotta make this” file but they look so good! Give ’em all a try and let me know what you think!  Happy and healthy eating!

http://www.budgetbytes.com/2012/04/lentil-tacos/

http://www.bethenny.com/2012/05/01/vegan-lentil-burgers/

 

Leave a Reply

